Visa and entry requirements Sri Lanka:
Passport required
A visa is required for Germans in Sri Lanka. This should be done electronically (ETA) in advance online www.eta.gov.lk be requested.
Visa cost: 35, - USD

Information from the Foreign Office on your Sri Lanka trip:
https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/de/srilankasicherheit/212254

Sri Lanka, the former Ceylon, is an island state in the Indian Ocean with about 22 million inhabitants. The country is geographically around 55 kilometers south of India.

The two official official languages ​​of Sri Lanka are Sinhala and Tamil, the national currency is the Sri Lanka Rupee used, while 1, - Euro about 200, - LKR.

The island's largest cities include Colombo, Kaduwela, Kesbewa, Maharagama, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Negombo, Kandy, Moratuwa, Sri Jayawardenepura and Kalmunai.

Nearly 72% of Sri Lanka's population profess Buddhism, and about 12% Hindus, 9% Muslims and 6% Christians still live in the country.

The spice island of Sri Lanka, with an extension of around 450 by 230 kilometers, consists of a highland in the middle of the island and the continually flattening lowlands. The highest point on the island is the 2.524 meter high mountain Pidurutalagala. There is a continuously tropical climate throughout the country, with warm temperatures all year round.

The tropical rainforests of the highlands are home to numerous animal species such as elephants, leopards, parrots, snakes, crocodiles, monkeys, pythons, monitor lizards and a diverse bird life.

Sri Lanka's economy is mainly based on agriculture, the textile industry and constant tourism. The country's most important export product is tea and makes the island nation the third largest tea producer in the world. Agricultural products such as cinnamon, coffee, rubber or coconuts are also exported. In the domestic textile industry, countless garments of all kinds, for large international fashion companies, are manufactured in numerous factories.

The island nation in the Indian Ocean is visited annually by around 500.000 foreign tourists. The most important sights of Sri Lanka include the lion rock in Sigiriya, the elephant reserve in Kegalle, the botanical garden of Peradeniya, the impressive tea plantations, the tooth temple and the cemetery of Kandy, the bridge with the nine arches near Ella, the Udawalawe National Park , the soldiers' cemetery in Trincomalee, the rock of Mihintale, the 50-meter-high Buddha statue at the rock temple Gal-Viharaya and the ruins in Polonnaruwa, the holy mountain Sri Pada, the Nallur Kovil temple of Jaffna, the Pigeon Island, the 240-meter-high Bambara Falls, the bird park in Kalametiya, the Bundala National Park, the Tsunami Museum in Hikkaduwa, the Kelaniya Raja Maha Vihara Temple, the Kalutara Bodhiya Temple, the St. Anthony's Church, the Independence Square, the Jami Ul-Alfar Mosque, the Kovoli Hindu Temple, the Old Parliament House, the Independence Hall, the Viharamahadevi Park, the Gangaramaya Temple, the Fort and the Buddhist Asokaramaya Temple in Colombo as well as other countless tea plantations or long, beautiful sandy beaches.

The capital of Sri Lanka is Sri Jayawardenepura with about 150.000 inhabitants. The city is located on the west coast of the country just ten kilometers from the largest city in Colombo.

The practically unofficial capital of Sri Lanka is Colombo with around one million inhabitants. The city of Colombo with its large port is the economic center of the island state.

One of my first targeted trips, which were not immediately connected to a longer vacation, led me to Sri Lanka in December 2011. The main goal of my three-day stay was the city of Colombo and its surroundings.

During a full day city tour and a short detour to the nearby capital, I got to know the numerous imposing temples with their different religious architecture. My taxi driver, who I booked for only 20 euros, knew the city very well and showed me many non-touristy corners of Colombo throughout the day. Particularly impressive were some huge sandy beaches with a slightly yellowish appearance or the many densely built houses along the country's famous railway line.

The city of Colombo and the country of Sri Lanka are a fantastic destination to spend a pleasant and affordable holiday for several days. A beautiful landscape and the consistently warm temperatures made my stay unforgettable.

Visa- und Einreisebestimmungen Sri Lanka:
Reisepass erforderlich
Für Deutsche besteht in Sri Lanka Visumpflicht. Dieses soll vorab als „Electronic Travel Authorization“ (ETA) im Online Verfahren unter www.eta.gov.lk beantragt werden.
Visakosten: 35,- USD

Informationen vom Auswärtigen Amt zu Ihrer Sri Lanka-Reise:
https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/de/srilankasicherheit/212254

Sri Lanka, früher Ceylon, ist ein Inselstaat im Indischen Ozean mit etwa 22 Millionen Einwohnern. Das Land befindet sich geographisch rund 55 Kilometer südlich von Indien.

Die beiden offiziellen Amtssprachen Sri Lankas sind Sinhala und Tamil, als Landeswährung wird die Sri-Lanka-Rupie verwendet, dabei entspricht 1,- Euro etwa 200,- LKR.

Zu den größten Städten des Inselstaates zählen Colombo, Kaduwela, Kesbewa, Maharagama, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Negombo, Kandy, Moratuwa, Sri Jayawardenepura sowie Kalmunai.

Fast 72% der Bevölkerung Sri Lankas bekennen sich zum Buddhismus, außerdem leben im Land noch ungefähr 12% Hindus, 9% Muslime sowie 6% Christen.

Der Gewürzinsel Sri Lanka, mit einer Ausdehnung von rund 450 mal 230 Kilometern, besteht aus einem Hochland in der Inselmitte sowie aus dem zur Küste hin kontinuierlich abflachenden Tiefland. Die höchste Erhebung des Inselstaates, ist der 2.524 Meter hohe Berg Pidurutalagala. Im gesamten Staatsgebiet herrscht ein durchgehend tropisches Klima mit ganzjährig warmen Temperaturen.

Die tropischen Regenwälder des Hochlandes, beherbergen zahlreiche Tierarten wie Elefanten, Leoparden, Papageien, Schlangen, Krokodile, Affen, Pythons, Warane sowie eine erhebliche Vogelwelt.

Die Wirtschaft Sri Lankas basiert vorwiegend auf der Landwirtschaft, der Textilindustrie und dem Tourismus. Das wichtigste Exportprodukt Tee, macht den Staat zum drittgrößten Tee-Produzenten weltweit. Außerdem werden landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse wie Zimt, Kaffee, Kautschuk oder Kokosnüsse ausgeführt. In der Textilindustrie werden Bekleidungsstücke aller Art, für große internationale Modefirmen in verschiedenen Fabriken hergestellt.

Der Inselstaat im Indischen Ozean wird jährlich von etwa 500.000 ausländischen Touristen besucht. Zu den bedeutendsten Sehenswürdigkeiten Sri Lankas gehören der Löwenfelsen in Sigiriya, das Elefanten-Schutzgebiet in Kegalle, der Botanische Garten von Peradeniya, die beeindruckenden Teeplantagen, der Zahntempel und der Friedhof von Kandy, die Brücke mit den 9 Bögen bei Ella, der Udawalawe Nationalpark, der Soldaten-Friedhof in Trincomalee, der Felsen von Mihintale, die 50 Meter hohe Buddha-Statue am Felsen-Tempel Gal-Viharaya und die Ruinen in Polonnaruwa, der heilige Berg Sri Pada, der Nallur Kovil-Tempel von Jaffna, die Pigeon-Insel, die 240 Meter hohen Bambara-Wasserfälle, der Vogelpark in Kalametiya, der Bundala Nationalpark, das Tsunami Museum in Hikkaduwa, der Kelaniya Raja Maha Vihara-Tempel, der Kalutara Bodhiya-Tempel, die St. Anthonys Kirche, der Unabhängigkeits-Platz, die Jami Ul-Alfar Moschee, der Kovoli-Hindu-Tempel, das alte Parlaments-Haus, die Unanhängigkeits-Halle, der Viharamahadevi-Park, der Gangaramaya-Tempel, das Fort und der buddhistische Asokaramaya-Tempel in Colombo sowie weitere unzählige Teeplantagen und lange weiße wunderschöne Sandstrände.

Die Hauptstadt von Sri Lanka ist Sri Jayawardenepura mit etwa 150.000 Einwohnern. Die Stadt befindet sich an der Westküste des Landes, nur rund zehn Kilometer von der größten Stadt Colombo entfernt.

Die praktisch inoffizielle Hauptstadt Sri Lankas ist Colombo mit etwa einer Million Einwohner. Die Stadt Colombo bildet mit seinem großen Hafen, das wirtschaftliche Zentrum des Inselstaates.

Einer meiner ersten gezielten Reisen, die nicht direkt mit Urlaub verbunden waren, führte mich Im Dezember 2011 nach Sri Lanka. Das hauptsächliche Ziel meines dreitägigen Aufenthaltes war die Stadt Colombo und deren Umgebung.

Bei einer ganztägigen Stadtrundfahrt mit einem kurzen Abstecher in die Hauptstadt, lernte ich die zahlreichen imposanten Tempel mit der unterschiedlichen religiösen Architektur kennen. Colombo ist ein sehr angenehmer Ort, um für einige Tage mal in Ruhe auszuspannen.