Visa and entry requirements Myanmar:
Passport required
German citizens need a visa to enter Myanmar.
It is also possible for tourists and business travelers to apply electronically for a visa (e-Visa).
Visa cost: 109, - USD

Information from the Foreign Office on your trip to Myanmar:
https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/de/myanmarsicherheit/212100

Myanmar, formerly known as Burma or Burma, is a state in Southeast Asia with about 55 million inhabitants. The country is bordered by Bangladesh and India to the west, China to the north and northeast, Laos to the east, Thailand to the southeast and the Gulf of Bengal in the Indian Ocean to the south and southwest.

The official official language of Myanmar is Burmese and the national currency is the Myanmar Kyat used, while 1, - Euro about 1.500, - MMK.

Rangoon (Yangon), Mandalay, Naypyidaw, Bago, Taunggyi, Myitkyna, Mawlamyaing, Monywa, Pathein and Lashio are among the largest cities in the country. Almost 90% of the population are committed to the Buddhist faith.

The capital of Myanmar is Naypyidaw with about 1,3 million inhabitants. The capital, which was only appointed in 2005, is the political center of the country and houses all government buildings in the country.

Myanmar's largest city and former capital is Rangoon, or Yangon, with almost seven million inhabitants.

The state territory of Myanmar is mostly mountainous, with the highest elevation of the country, the 5.881 meter high Hkakabo Razi, also the highest mountain in Southeast Asia. Almost half of the country's surface is covered with forest.

Myanmar is one of the poorest countries in the world. The country's economy is mainly based on small deposits of raw materials such as gold, rubies, jade, sapphires, petroleum, natural gas, copper or the unique Painit, agriculture, drug cultivation and a steadily increasing tourism.

With the cultivation of poppy seeds and the associated production of opium as well as the mass production of amphetamines, Myanmar is one of the most important drug producers in the world after Afghanistan. In addition, Myanmar is an international trading center for illegal wildlife products, such as ivory, tiger skins or rhinoceros teeth.

Myanmar has been an increasingly popular tourist destination since the country opened a few years ago. The now almost five million foreign visitors enjoy an enormous range of attractions in the country.

Myanmar's most important sights include the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon - the largest and most valuable Buddhist building in the world, the golden rock at Kyaikto, the floating gardens in Inle Lake, the cultural center of Mandalay, the old capital Bagan with its almost 2.100 Temples, the pagoda forest in the village of Indein, the 800 pagoda Kakku pagodas of Taunggyi, the Golden Palace, the Mahamuni temple and the Mahamuni pagoda in Mandalay, the murals in the Po Win Daung caves, the Golden Triangle - where the countries of Thailand, Laos and Myanmar meet on the Mekong, the snow-white pagoda of Mingun, the small pagodas and the largest book in the world in Mandalay, the caves of Pindaya, the Shwesandaw Pagoda and the Htilominlo Pahto Temple in Bagan Sadan Cave in Hpa An, the innumerable Buddhas in the Thanboddhay Paya Temple of Monywa, the National Kandawgyi Park, the Shwezigon Pagoda in Bagan, the Gokteik Viaduct by Nawnghkio, the Monastery of Nyaungshwe as well as the synagogue, the Saint Mary Cathedral, the giant Chaukhtatgyi Buddha, the U Thant House, the Swe Taw Myat Pagoda, the Botahtaung Pagoda, the Central Station, the Baungdawgyoke Pagoda and the Secretariat - the old British seat of government in Yangon.

In September 2014, I visited Myanmar for two days. I flew from Bangkok to Yangon with the low-cost airline Air Asia and stayed one night in a rather bad hotel in the city center.

At the time when the country was just opening up to international tourism, the selection was limited to a maximum of ten hotels. The only two somewhat better hotels in Rangoon, but were completely overpriced due to the high demand.

After arriving at the hotel early in the morning, I went on a full day city tour. I had already booked this excursion with my taxi driver during the trip to the hotel for just super cheap 20 euros.

There was an incredible amount to see in Yangon and the time passed very quickly. The hunt from one high point to another ended with the onset of darkness and countless impressive experiences. The city is really incredibly rich in cultural treasures. The clear highlight of the day was the huge and fascinating Shwedagon Pagoda.

I spent the evening in one of the many cheap restaurants or bars, in a pleasant atmosphere and very friendly local people.

Since my flight back to Bangkok started the next day at noon, my stay in beautiful Myanmar was unfortunately much too short. The emerging Myanmar is a fantastic and inexpensive travel destination and is therefore highly recommended by me for a longer stay.

One day I will be back, then definitely in a much better and newly built hotel and guaranteed with further visits to Bagan and Mandalay.

Visa- und Einreisebestimmungen Myanmar:
Reisepass erforderlich
Deutsche Staatsangehörige benötigen zur Einreise nach Myanmar ein Visum.
Es besteht für Touristen und für Geschäftsreisende auch die Möglichkeit, elektronisch ein Visum zu beantragen (eVisum).
Visakosten: 109,- USD

Informationen vom Auswärtigen Amt zu Ihrer Myanmarreise:
https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/de/myanmarsicherheit/212100

Myanmar, früher auch Burma oder Birma genannt, ist ein Staat in Südostasien mit etwa 55 Millionen Einwohnern. Das Land grenzt im Westen an Bangladesch und Indien, im Norden und Nordosten an China, im Osten an Laos, im Südosten an Thailand sowie im Süden und Südwesten an den Golf von Bengalen im Indischen Ozean.

Die offizielle Amtssprache Myanmars ist Birmanisch und als Landeswährung wird der Myanmarische Kyat verwendet, dabei entspricht 1,- Euro etwa 1.800,- MMK.

Zu den größten Städten des Landes zählen Rangun (Yangon), Mandalay, Naypyidaw, Bago, Taunggyi, Myitkyna, Mawlamyaing, Monywa, Pathein sowie Lashio. Fast 90% der Bevölkerung bekennen sich dabei zum buddhistischen Glauben.

Die Hauptstadt von Myanmar ist Naypyidaw mit etwa 1,3 Millionen Einwohnern. Die erst seit 2005 ernannte Hauptstadt, ist das politische Zentrum des Landes, mit allen Regierungsgebäuden.

Die mit Abstand größte Stadt des Landes und vormalige Hauptstadt ist Rangun, oder auch Yangon genannt, mit fast sieben Millionen Einwohnern.

Das Staatsgebiet Myanmars ist größtenteils bergig, mit der höchsten Erhebung des Landes, dem 5.881 Meter hohen Hkakabo Razi, gleichzeitig auch dem höchsten Berg Südostasiens. Fast die Hälfte der Landesfläche ist mit Wald bedeckt.

Myanmar gehört zu den ärmsten Staaten der Erde. Die Wirtschaft des Landes basiert vorwiegend auf geringe Rohstoffvorkommen wie Gold, Rubine, Jade, Saphire, Erdöl, Erdgas, Kupfer oder dem einzigartigen Painit, der Landwirtschaft, dem Drogenanbau sowie dem stetig steigenden Tourismus.

Durch den Anbau von Mohn und der damit verbundenen Opiumherstellung sowie der massenhaften Herstellung von Amphetaminen, ist Myanmar nach Afghanistan eines der wichtigsten Drogenproduzenten weltweit. Außerdem ist Myanmar ein internationaler Handelsplatz für illegale Wildtierprodukte, wo etwa Elfenbein, Tigerfelle oder Nashornzähne angeboten werden.

Myanmar ist seit der Öffnung des Landes vor wenigen Jahren, ein immer beliebter werdendes Reiseziel bei Touristen. Die inzwischen fast fünf Millionen ausländischen Besucher, erfreuen sich über ein enormes Angebot an Attraktionen des Landes. Zu den bedeutendsten Sehenswürdigkeiten Myanmars, gehören die Shwedagon-Pagode in Rangun – das größte und wertvollste buddhistische Bauwerk der Welt, der Goldenen Fels bei Kyaikto, die schwimmenden Gärten im Inle-See, das kulturelle Zentrum Mandalay, die alte Hauptstadt Bagan mit seinen fast 2.100 Tempeln, den Pagodenwald im Dorf Indein, die aus 800 Pagoden bestehenden Kakku-Pagoden von Taunggyi, der Goldene Palast, der Mahamuni-Tempel und die Mahamuni-Pagode in Mandalay, die Wandmalereien in den Po Win Daung-Höhlen, das Goldene Dreieck – wo sich die Länder Thailand, Laos und Myanmar auf dem Mekong treffen, die schneeweiße Pagode von Mingun, die kleinen Pagoden und das größte Buch der Welt in Mandalay, die Höhlen von Pindaya, die Shwesandaw-Pagode und der Htilominlo Pahto-Tempel in Bagan, die Sadan-Höhle in Hpa An, die unzähligen Buddhas im Thanboddhay Paya-Tempel von Monywa, der Nationale Kandawgyi Park, die Shwezigon Pagode in Bagan, das Gokteik-Viadukt von Nawnghkio, das Kloster von Nyaungshwe sowie die Synagoge, die Saint Mary Kathedrale, der riesige liegende Chaukhtatgyi-Buddha, das U Thant Haus, die Swe Taw Myat-Pagode, die Botahtaung-Pagode, der Hauptbahnhof, die Baungdawgyoke-Pagode und das Sekretariat – der alte britische Regierungssitz in Yangon.

Im September 2014 besuchte ich Myanmar für zwei Tage. Mit der Billigfluglinie Air Asia flog ich von Bangkok nach Rangun und wohnte eine Nacht in einem eher schlechten Hotel der Stadt. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt, als das Land für den internationalen Tourismus gerade geöffnet wurde, hatte sich allerdings die Auswahl auf maximal zehn Hotels beschränkt. Die nur zwei etwas besseren Hotels Ranguns, waren aufgrund der hohen Nachfrage aber völlig überteuert.

Nach meiner Ankunft im Hotel am frühen Morgen, unternahm ich anschließend eine ganztägige Stadtrundfahrt. Diesen Ausflug hatte ich bereits während meiner Fahrt zum Hotel, beim Taxifahrer für super preiswerte 20,- Euro gebucht.

In Rangun gab es unfassbar viel zu sehen und die Zeit verging rasend schnell. Die Jagd von einem Höhepunkt zum anderen, endete mit dem Einbruch der Dunkelheit und mit unzähligen interessanten Erlebnissen an nur einem Tag. Der eindeutige Höhepunkt des Tages, war die riesige und faszinierende Shwedagon-Pagode.

Den Abend verbrachte ich in einer der vielen günstigen Restaurants oder Bars, in einer angenehmen Atmosphäre mit sehr freundlichen einheimischen Menschen.

Da mein Rückflug bereits am nächsten Mittag wieder nach Bangkok startete, war mein Aufenthalt im schönen Myanmar leider viel zu kurz. Doch eines Tages komme ich wieder, dann bestimmt in einem viel besseren und neu gebauten Hotel sowie garantiert mit weiteren Besuchen in Bagan und Mandalay.