The Chagos Archipelago is a British territory in the Indian Ocean with around 3,800 exclusively military residents. Of the original “British Indian Ocean Territory”, only the Chagos island chain remains today; the other atolls were returned to the Seychelles in 1976.

The main language spoken in the Chagos Archipelago is English and the US dollar is used as currency.

The archipelago consists of a total of eight atolls, such as Diego Garcia, Danger Island, “Three Brothers”, Nelsons Island, Solomon Islands, “Peros Banhos”, Egmont Islands and Eagle Islands, as well as almost 70 mostly uninhabited smaller islands.

The largest island in the Chagos archipelago is Diego Garcia, on which an American military base has been built since 1971 through a 50-year lease with the USA.

The former approximately 1,250 residents of Diego Garcia were involuntarily relocated to Great Britain, Mauritius or the Seychelles.

The population of the archipelago now consists only of British or American military personnel and has therefore largely been declared a restricted area.

I haven't been to the Chagos Archipelago yet.

A visit there is almost hopeless and not planned.

Hence no photos!